https://frrl.wordpress.com

A site of endless curiosity

Let the music rain from the cloud

leave a comment »

What do you do if you’re Amazon and you have to dent Apple’s iTunes juggernaut and its upcoming launch of its cloud music service? Compete on price—early and often.

That’s what Amazon is doing in spades today. Its 99 cent one-day offer for Lady Gaga’s new album is exactly what it should be doing if it’s going to grab some of Apple’s market share. And guess what? You fork over 99 cents. You get Lady Gaga’s album, which I had no intention of buying until it was 99 cents. And you get 20GB of Amazon’s cloud storage

Meanwhile, you may stick around despite a few server glitches. You may even stick with Amazon’s Cloud Player and buy more storage in the future.

Peter Fader, marketing at professor at Wharton, lays out Amazon’s challenge in a http://knowledge.wharton.upenn.edu/ article:

“Amazon isn’t part of your daily life. Consumers touch Google, Microsoft and Apple all the time. They are only reaching out to Amazon when buying something. Amazon wants to be a part of people’s lives multiple times a day.”

With Amazon’s Kindle, likely tablets, streaming video and cloud music the company is grabbing everyday users. If Lady Gaga and a 99 cent album is what it takes to acquire customers Amazon will take that loss leading bet all day.

Yes, that’s right. Amazon wants to be part of your everyday life. So, I took a chance.

I was already an Amazon Cloud Drive user. You get 5GB of storage for free.

So, I took them up on their offer – $0.99 for the new Lady Gaga Album: Born This Way. What’s $0.99? And that is not for one song – that’s $0.99 for the entire album.

I place my order and I get a note from Amazon saying they upgraded my Amazon Cloud Drive from 5 GB of storage to 20 GB of storage for one year. My choice to renew this upgraded storage in a year.

When you buy the music at Amazon you can choose to have them store it for you and you listen to it on-line with Amazon Cloud Player.  Or, download it to your local PC, Mac, or MP3 player.  Since we are “always connected” I left it on the cloud.

What about my Apple iPod Touch?  Can I stream my MP3 music to my iPod?  Amazon does not have a dedicated Cloud Player application for the iPod Touch or iPhone.  BUT you can fire up the Safari browser on the iPod Touch and point it to Amazon’s Cloud Player on the web.  Respond “continue” to the message that says your browser is not compatible with Cloud player.  Then start listening on the iPod Touch.

So, Amazon wants to be part of my (and your) digital life..

  1. I have Amazon Cloud Drive (20 GB) with all sorts of media on it. (Worried?  AxCrypt)
  2. I have Amazon-purchased music  and can upload more MP3’s that I purchased from other places.
  3. $0.99 for the Lady Gaga Album – all the songs
  4. During May, Amazon has 1,500 albums for $5.00 each
  5. “Play the Cloud” on almost any internet connected device (including iPod Touch and iPhone)
  6. Amazon keeps all my Kindle books, bookmarks, and notes – which I can read anywhere.

Part of my digital life?  Nice start.  I’m there.  (Until something better comes along)

Read the full article from the Wharton School on the competition among Amazon, Google, and Apple
http://knowledge.wharton.upenn.edu/article.cfm?articleid=2768

Written by frrl

May 26, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

