https://frrl.wordpress.com

A site of endless curiosity

Brother, Can You Spare a Dime (1931)

leave a comment »

Unemployment Rates across the United States by State – http://www.bls.gov/Lau/

They used to tell me I was building a dream
And so I followed the mob.
When there was earth to plow or guns to bear,
I was always there, right on the job.
They used to tell me I was building a dream
With peace and glory ahead –
Why should I be standing in line, just waiting for bread?
Once I built a railroad, I made it run,
Made it race against time.
Once I built a railroad, now it’s done –
Brother, can you spare a dime?

Once I built a tower, up to the sun,
brick and rivet and lime.
Once I built a tower, now it’s done –
Brother, can you spare a dime?

Once in khaki suits, gee, we looked swell
Full of that Yankee Doodle-de-dum.
Half a million boots went slogging through hell,
And I was the kid with the drum.

Say, don’t you remember they called me Al,
It was Al all the time.
Why don’t you remember, I’m your pal –
Say, buddy, can you spare a dime?

Once in khaki suits, ah, gee, we looked swell
Full of that Yankee Doodle-de-dum.
Half a million boots went slogging through hell,
And I was the kid with the drum.

Say, don’t you remember they called me Al,
It was Al all the time.
Why don’t you remember, I’m your pal –
Buddy, can you spare a dime?

Written by frrl

April 21, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

